Cabrillo Marine Aquarium
 
 
cma
 

Featured Event


Summer Classes

Science at the Seashore: Summer Camp Classes
Deadline to register is one week before the class begins.
Please call 310-548-7562 to speak with our friendly representative regarding class availability.

Tales Between the Tides Ages 3 - 5
Session 1 -- Tuesday, June 21 and Wednesday, June 22 10am-12noon
Session 2 -- Thursday, June 23 and Friday, June 24 10am-12noon
Session 3 – Tuesday, August 16 and Wednesday, August 17 10am-12noon
Session 4 – Thursday, August 18 and Friday, August 19 10am-12noon
You and your Young Explorer will help us discover nature at a child’s “see” level. Using the Aquarium, our Classroom Laboratory and the Coastal Park, we will hear stories, see fascinating creatures, touch live sea animals, and even scamper like crabs! Each day we will make special memories and focus on a different theme, so choose one, several or all sessions! Fee: $26 ($24 Friends members). Space is limited, registration is required; please call 310-548-7562. Sorry, walk-ins cannot be accommodated.

Galloping Snails Grades 1 - 2
Session 1 -- Tuesday, June 28 and Wednesday, June 29 9am-12noon
Session 2 -- Thursday, June 30 and Friday, July 1 9am-12noon
Session 3 – Tuesday, July 26 and Wednesday, July 27 9am-12noon
Session 4 – Thursday, July 28 and Friday, July 29 9am-12noon
Watch snails “gallop” and other seashore animal behavior through shoreline exploration and laboratory activities. Make ocean art and other projects as records of your discoveries. Fee: $85 ($77 Friends members). Includes a Science at the Seashore t-shirt. Space is limited, registration is required; please call 310-548-7562. Sorry, walk-ins cannot be accommodated.

Crab Shells Grades 3 - 4
Session 1 -- Tuesday, July 5 and Wednesday, July 6 9am-12noon
Session 2 -- Thursday, July 7 and Friday, July 8 9am-12noon
Session 3 – Tuesday, August 2 and Wednesday, August 3 9am-12noon
Session 4 – Thursday, August 4 and Friday, August 5 9am-12noon
Observe animal behavior as you hold hermit crabs, go crab fishing, feed barnacles and more! Discover the marvelous mud at the salt marsh and explore how humans are connected to the ocean. Fee: $85 ($77 Friends members). Includes a Science at the Seashore t-shirt. Space is limited, registration is required; please call 310-548-7562. Sorry, walk-ins cannot be accommodated.

Ichthyology Grades 5 - 6
Session 1 -- Tuesday, July 12 and Wednesday, July 13 9am-12noon
Session 2 -- Thursday, July 14 and Friday, July 15 9am-12noon
Session 3 – Tuesday, August 9 and Wednesday, August 10 9am-12noon
Session 4 – Thursday, August 11 and Friday, August 12 9am-12noon
Students will examine the inner and outer anatomy of a fish. Learn about the biology of fishes, from sharks to eels to the garibaldi. Discover how ichthyologists use special tools, techniques and careful observation to understand more about fishes. Dissections, fish printing and fish feeding are all included as part of the discovery! Fee: $85 ($77 Friends members). Includes a Science at the Seashore t-shirt. Space is limited, registration is required; please call 310-548-7562. Sorry, walk-ins cannot be accommodated.


Coastal Field Research Grades 7-9
Session 1 -- Tuesday, July 19 and Wednesday, July 20 9am-12noon
Session 2 -- Thursday, July 21 and Friday, July 22 9am-12noon
Combine Marine Biology with art as we do laboratory and field research in our daily trips to the Cabrillo Beach Coastal Park. Students will keep a field journal and participate in field research to investigate the rocky intertidal, sandy beach and mudflats through pen, paper, a painter's brush and the lens of a camera. Fee: $85 ($77 Friends members). Includes a Science at the Seashore t-shirt. Space is limited, registration is required; please call 310-548-7562. Sorry, walk-ins cannot be accommodated.


Science at the Seashore: After-school Class

SEA Club – Science Education Afternoons
3:30-5pm

On four consecutive Wednesday afternoons, join CMA Educators for a series of hands-on after-school marine science adventures. Activities may include observing animal behavior, examining rocky shore animals at the tidepools, exploring the wonders of mud at the salt marsh and getting up-close with microscopes. Fee: $30 ($27 Friends members) for the series and includes a SEA Club t-shirt. Financial assistance available. Space is limited, registration is required; please call 310-548-7562. Sorry, walk-ins cannot be accommodated.


Wednesdays, September 7,14, 21, 28: Ages 9-11

Wednesdays, October 5, 12, 19, 26: Ages 7-8

Wednesdays, November 2, 9, 16, 23: Ages 5-6

Share

Facebook icon  Linkedin icon  StumbleUpon icon  Twitter icon 
 

Upcoming Events


There's always something fishy going on
and you can stay up-to-date by
subscribing to e-Tides, our e-newsletter!
 
 
Crab Shells (Grades 3-4) - Session 2  Arrow
Observe animal behavior as you hold hermit crabs, go crab fishing, feed barnacles and more! Discover the marvelous mud at the salt marsh and how people are connected to the ocean.

Session 2:...

Thursday, July 7, 2022 • 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM

cma

Public Fish Dissection  Arrow
Get a closer look at the outside and inside of fish.

Join our Education Team as we investigate the internal and external anatomy of fish through a dissection demonstration.

Lower courtyard,...

Saturday, July 9, 2022 • 1:15 PM

cma

Public Fish Dissection  Arrow
Get a closer look at the outside and inside of fish.

Join our Education Team as we investigate the internal and external anatomy of fish through a dissection demonstration.

Lower courtyard,...

Saturday, July 9, 2022 • 2:15 PM

cma

Salt Marsh Open House  Arrow
Join CMA Educators to learn about the Salinas de San Pedro wetlands habitat at Cabrillo Beach by using binoculars and microscopes to observe live animals. Visitors can view the birds of the marsh,...

Sunday, July 10, 2022 • 2:15 PM - 4:15 PM

cma

Shark Week  Arrow
(There are no Shark Week activities on Monday, July 18, 2022 because the Aquarium is closed.)

Shark Week returns to CMA and features special shark crafts and activities each day from 2 to 5pm!

Sunday, July 10, 2022 • 2:00 PM - 5:00 PM

cma

Ichthyology (Grades 5-6) - Session 1  Arrow
Examine the inner and outer workings of a fish, and discover unique features that relate sharks to eels and the garibaldi. Dissections, fishing, fish printing, and fish feeding are all included as...

Tuesday, July 12, 2022 • 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM
   
 
cma